top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJosh Geary

July 2022

July held two important races this month: a 3000m track race at Trafford GP in order to get a 3k pb, and round 4 of the British Super Series at Mallory Park.


The 3000m track race was one that I was in great shape for, as I had been in good run form in the couple of weeks leading up to it, putting in some good sessions. My aim was to go under 8:45, although I would be happy with anything under 8:50. Preparations for the race went well and I managed to pace it well, coming home with an 8:39 which I was very happy with.


Next, round 4 of the British Super Series at Mallory Park - this race was in a heats and finals format, with the top 16 from two heats advancing into the A final, along with the 8 fastest finishers. The people who didn’t qualify were in the B final.


I managed to qualify comfortably, coming onto the bike in the front bike pack and jogging the run with a big pack up front.



For the finals, the swim didn’t go as well as the heats. I found myself in the third bike pack, and even though we worked well to try to close the gap, we could not close it and ended up coming into transition a fair way behind the leaders.


I set off well on the run, but held back on the first lap slightly. I managed to build the effort throughout the run, and have a really strong second half, which put me in 7th position to finish with the second fastest run.


Overall, I am happy with how I performed, as even though the swim did not go to plan, I managed to gain back places and finish in a decent spot.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Season Review

Overall, the 2023 season hasn't gone to plan for a number of reasons. Illness and injury got in the way of a lot of training and has affected racing, but I have managed to make the most of this season

bottom of page