top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJosh Geary

June 2023

June has been a good month of training, following my illness which left me unable to train for two weeks.


After my illness, I had a week of easy training, and since then have had 5 good weeks of training, starting to introduce more intensity now. I have also raced twice in June, even though I am not up to full fitness yet, these races were still a good experience.


The first race was an Aquathlon at Lochore Meadows, part of the super series. The day consisted of 3 races, each of different lengths in terms of the swim and the run. The day was good in terms of getting valuable racing experience in the open water, even though I didn't do as well as I thought I would. I also managed to fuel well throughout the race getting about 100g of carbs per hour in.


The next race was Mallory Park Super Series, which was a heats and finals format in the super sprint distance. The heat was in a TT format, and my fitness meant that I ended up in the B final, which I wasn't too dissapointed with as I knew that I wasn't at full fitness. In the B final race, I had a good swim, but then just missed the front bike pack, meaning I was in the second pack. Unfortunately I didn't have the legs for a good run, and therefore fell way back in the standings.


Overall June has been a good month of training and an opportunity to get back to racing. My next race is at Sunderland in a few weeks, which I am looking forward to.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Season Review

Overall, the 2023 season hasn't gone to plan for a number of reasons. Illness and injury got in the way of a lot of training and has affected racing, but I have managed to make the most of this season

bottom of page